Stock Photography Journey – January 2012

In the month of January, I began to submit my images to several microstock photography websites.

Did you ever wonder where the pictures of all the smiling awake people in business meetings in the presentations at work came from? Stock photography agencies, most likely. I always wondered why people don’t use more realistic images and let a few of the meeting attendees doze off here and there…. I guess that doesn’t sell ;).

For photographers, stock photography can get addicting. I suspect it would be similar to fantasy football – the compulsion to check your stats all the time (of course I would not know about that).

So as an introduction, I am offering my January 2012 statistics. I will do my best to post my stock photography results at the end of each month….

Most successful image of the month

Let me introduce the most successful image of the month with 4 downloads.

To summarize, I have images offered through 20 stock photography websites at this time, even though I am considering not maintaining all twenty – time will tell (links to most are offered on the right side of the page).

The four  websites with sales this month were:

Shutterstock

Dreamstime

123RF

Fotolia

And here come the charts… (click on each for larger view)

The Bottom Line – Total Revenue

This includes income from image sales and any other bonuses and referral revenue. What is the bottom line for January 2012? The total comes to $14.89.

Number of Image Downloads

This is the absolute number of downloads. One would expect this number to go up over time as more images are added to the portfolio.

Earnings from Image Sales

Absolute earnings from all images available for sale.

Average Earnings per Download

This measure captures the average payout per download and should differentiate websites with high payout per download.

Portfolio Size

This is the total count of images available for sale. The variances in the size of the portfolio is mostly due to the speed with which various stock photography websites process uploads and how strict they are in their acceptance criteria – see the Approval Ratio below.

Approval Ratio

This measure gauges how strict the stock photography websites are in accepting images and potentially how well aligned my portfolio is with their style.

Average Revenue per Image Available

This measure should smooth out the differences in portfolio size.

3 thoughts on “Stock Photography Journey – January 2012

  1. Great start! It is not an easy journey, but approached with the right frame of mind it can start to generate some meaningful income. I’ve been at this for four years now and have about 2400 images on line and have built up to $1200 a month. Try my eBook on Getting Started in Stock!

    Seriously, I would suggest you set a target of uploading a certain number of images a week. If you can get your workflow running smoothly, continue to upload to your 20 sites (as it helps to even out good and bad months) and don’t get frustrated with rejections.

Leave a Reply

